Jump to content
ExtremeRavens: The Sanctuary

Roberts Countdown...


dc.
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hit 54 in yesterday's loss to the Sox (which, by the way, I was at and got on the field pre-game for a youth sports parade, haha! Kids from my team got to throw out the first pitch, too. Sweet).

 

Anyway... 54 doubles... and 9 games left. C'monnnnn 60!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Didn't realize til now... one of Roberts earlier hits was a single that scored a run... Roberts tried for second, Vernon Wells threw to second from CF... Roberts made it in safely, but over-slid the bag and was tagged out.

 

If I'm the scorer, isn't that a double and then the out??? If you see the video on MLB.com (posted below, I hope), he is clearly safe until he overslides...

 

http://baltimore.orioles.mlb.com/media/video.jsp?topic_id=bal&c_id=bal

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Found my answer... but the rule seems silly...

 

© When the batter attempts to make a two-base hit or a three-base hit by sliding, he must hold the last base to which he advances. If a batter-runner overslides and is tagged out before getting back to the base safely, he shall be credited with only as many bases as he attained safely. If a batter-runner overslides second base and is tagged out, the official scorer shall credited him with a one-base hit; if the batter-runner overslides third base and is tagged out, the official scorer shall credit him with a two-base hit.

Rule 10.06© Comment: If the batter-runner overruns second or third base and is tagged out trying to return, the official scorer shall credit the batter-runner with the last base he touched. If a batter-runner runs past second base after reaching that base on his feet, attempts to return and is tagged out, the official scorer shall credit the batter with a two-base hit. If a batter-runner runs past third base after reaching that base on his feet, attempts to return and is tagged out, the official scorer shall credit the batter with a three-base hit.

 

So, if you slide past the base and are tagged out going back... you get a single.

 

BUT if you run past the base and are tagged out going back... you get a double.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...