ExtremeRavens: The Sanctuary

Home Sound System Question/Help

dc.

Ok all... so I have pretty much decided that I need to get a home sound system, or want to. Lots of reasons - I'd like to be able to have better sound on the TV watching games, on-demand movies; would love to have decent sound on dvd player and eventually on blu-ray player; would also love a good option to play radio and/or ipod/comp via a speaker system in the main part of the house.

Ultimately, I'm a total newbie and have no clue on many matters... but I am a tough sell on anything over $50 and I like to know I'm getting the best for my situation.

Here's what I've looked at/thought...

Sound Bar Systems: In general, I like the lack of wires and clutter. I don't think I care much about true surround sound or anything, so a neat little system that sits right in front and doesn't take energy is a super plus. They aren't super cheap though, at least not for decent ones. What I don't like is that no sound bar I've seen has great reviews. Most are quite mediocre. Two have stood out...

Samsung (I like the brand) offers a soundbar with wireless subwoofer that looks decent. It won't fix my ipod/computer/radio issue. But it does have some solid inputs and I like the wireless sub, though I've heard it's incredibly weak ... perhaps just audiophiles being pricks, though?

Sharp has a sound bar with subwoofer and receiver. I like the idea of the receiver, which allows me to connect the ipod or listen to radio, etc. Solid inputs again. Downsides are it is not wireless, not even the sub, which defeats some of the advantage of the soundbar. I also don't much care for Sharp - though I could be convinced.

Both of these are in the same 250-300 price range.